2022 FIFA World Cup Qualification

2022 FIFA World Cup Qualification

Spread the love

Football is the number one sport around the world. More than half of the world’s population are football lovers and this number is not stopped, it is increasing day by day. It is also exciting that first time of football history, Qatar, a middle-east and a small Islamic country is hosting world cup 2022. It will be the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup. Before Qatar, South Korea and Japan were the first Asian countries to host the World Cup. So it is a great moment for Qatar and for the entire middle-east Islamic countries. 32 teams are participating in the 2022 world cup and in the 2026 world cup, 48 teams will participate.

2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers:

FIFA World Cup is one of the biggest events around the world. Although the Qatar World Cup is still 3 years away but the journey of many countries has already been started. The qualification process is a long process, it is a series of tournaments which began on 6th June 2019 when Asia’s lowest-ranked teams played each other in a preliminary round. 211 teams; yes, two hundred and eleven teams are there from the 6 FIFA confederations to enter qualification. Qatar is a host country so Qatar qualified automatically for the tournament. Now we are waiting for the next 31 teams.

The 6 FIFA confederations are:

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC): The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) is the governing body of association football in Asia and Australia. It has 47 member countries. Australia, formerly in the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) and joined the Asian Football Confederation in 2006. The Asian Football Confederation was founded on 8 May 1954 and the AFC Asian Cup is the second oldest football competition in the world.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF): The Confederation of African Football (CAF) is the administrative and controlling body for African association football. CAF is the biggest of the six continental confederations of FIFA. It has 54 member countries. CAF was established on 8 February 1957 in Khartoum, Sudan.

The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF): The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) founded on 18 September 1961 in Mexico. It has 41 members include nations and territories in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. CONCACAF is the third-most successful FIFA confederation.

The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL): CONMEBOL is the continental governing body of football in South America (apart from Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana). It is the oldest continental confederation in the world, founded on 9 July 1913. It has 10 members and is considered one of the strongest confederations in the world as CONMEBOL national teams have won 9 FIFA World Cups, 22 Intercontinental Cups, 4 FIFA Club World Cups and 5 gold medals in Olympic.

The Oceania Football Confederation (OFC): OFC is made up of island nations where association football is not so popular sport. It includes New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Tonga, and other Pacific Island countries. Australia left this federation in 2006 and joined the AFC. It was founded in 1966. It includes 14 members (11 Full). OFC is the only confederation who does not have any international title.

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA): UEFA founded on 15 June 1954. It includes 55 members. The UEFA is the organizer of two of the most prestigious competitions in international football: The UEFA European Championship and the UEFA Nations League. UEFA represents the national football associations of Europe runs nation and club competitions including the UEFA European Championship, UEFA Nations League, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, and UEFA Super Cup. UEFA also considered being the toughest region.

Qualification Process:

The qualification process already been started and will get over in March 2022. Each confederation has its quota. It was decided on 30 May 2015 in Zurich after the FIFA Congress by the FIFA Executive Committee. The same pattern follows which was used in 2006, 2010, 2014, and 2018 World Cup.

The quota of all FIFA Confederations is:

  1. AFC (Asia): 4 or 5
  2. CAF (Africa): 5
  3. CONCACAF (North, Central America, and Caribbean): 3 or 4
  4. CONMEBOL (South America): 4 or 5
  5. OFC (Oceania): 0 or 1
  6. UEFA (Europe): 13
  7. Hosts: 1

Qualification of 2022 FIFA World Cup start dates are:


Qualifying Start Date

Qualifying End Date

AFC – Asia

6 June 2019

March 2022

CAF – Africa

4 September 2019

November 2021

CONCACAF – North, Central America and Caribbean

31 August 2020

March 2022

CONMEBOL – South America

23 March 2020

March 2020

OFC – Oceania


March 2022

UEFA – Europe

25 March 2021

March 2022

You can read more about FIFA World Cup 2022 – Qatar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top